

## Joint Labor-Management Committee Commute Options & Parking COMMITTEE REPORT 22-22

Date: October 4, 2022

To: JLMC-COP

From: Staff

Subject: Election of Officer – Committee Second Provisional Chair Vacancy

## JLMC-COP Members

Management Valerie Melloff, GSD, Chair Paula Dayes, Personnel, First Prov. Chair Patricia Huber, CAO Jay Kim, LADOT Employee Organization Primary Members Charles Leone, SEIU, Vice-Chair Leticia Gonzalez, AFSCME Esteban Lizardo, LIUNA Billy Brockway, LAPCOA Employee Organization Secondary Members Charley M. Mims, LAPMA

## **RECOMMENDATION:**

That the JLMC-COP conduct an election for the position of Second Provisional Chair.

## **DISCUSSION**:

Committee member Carmen Hayes-Walker resigned from her role as president of AFSCME 3090 following her retirement from City service, effective August 8, 2022. Accordingly, Ms. Hayes-Walker also left her position on the Committee, where she served as the Second Provisional Chair.

Per the Committee's Bylaws, "The Committee shall elect officers including a Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, and First and Second Provisional Chairpersons each year at the Annual Meeting of the Committee; or in the event one of the individuals holding one of these titles separates from the Committee, at the earliest possible meeting following that individual's separation." The current list of officers, including the Provisional Chairs, is as follows:

Position	Committee Member Name
Chair	Valerie Melloff
Vice-Chair	Charles Leone
First Provisional Chair	Paula Dayes
Second Provisional Chair	Vacant

In accordance with the Bylaws, staff recommends that the Committee conduct an election for the position of Second Provisional Chair. The Committee member elected to the position will serve in the role through the end of next calendar year until the next election of officers takes place in January 2024.

Submitted by:

Daniel Powell, Senior Personnel Analyst II

Approved by:

Paul Makowski, Chief Management Analyst